#BookReview: The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna @NaminaForna

Hi everyone. Today, I have a book review for you by an author new to me, Namina Forna. I discovered this book via NetGalley and received a free ARC of this book. I enjoyed this read so much that I’ll have to check out her other books.

About the Book:

The Gilded Ones is the must-read new bold and immersive West-African inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle and Book Riot. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. 

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman’s worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold – the colour of impurity, of a demon – she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed…

The epic fantasy of 2021, The Gilded Ones, by Namina Forna. Out 4th February 2021.

Trigger warning: The Gilded Ones includes scenes of violence which some readers may find distressing.

My Review:

Many thanks to NetGalley and Usborne Publishing for a free Advanced Review Copy of this book.

Namina Forna is a new author to me, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. The book cover and description appealed to me. What can I say? … I’m so pleased that I gave this book and writer a go. Namina Forna is now on my list of auto-buy authors.

In one word: Brilliant.

I loved this book from start to finish. The world-building, description, and character development were all done wonderfully. The Gilded Ones is one of the best books I’ve read this year, and I’ll be looking out for more books by this amazing author.

Though this is a fantasy YA read, it is both graphic and to the point. The storyline reflects the plight of so many women around the world today. This book brings a strong and much-needed reminder of just how much things still need to change. If you love a story of love, courage, and hope, then you’ll love this awesome coming-of-age, African-inspired novel. Even if YA isn’t your usual genre, I would recommend that you give this book a chance. I cannot rate it highly enough.

The Gilded Ones gets a resounding 5 stars from me.

***

NOTE ON RATINGS: I consider a 3-star rating a positive review. Picky about which books I give 5 stars to, I reserve this highest rating for the stories I find stunning and which moved me.

5 STARS: IT WAS AMAZING! I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! — Highly Recommended.
4 STARS: I WOULD PULL AN ALL-NIGHTER — Go read this book.
3 STARS: IT WAS GOOD! — An okay read. Didn’t love it. Didn’t hate it.
2 STARS: I MAY HAVE LIKED A FEW THINGS —Lacking in some areas: writing, characterisation, and/or problematic plot lines.
1 STAR: NOT MY CUP OF TEA —Lots of issues with this book.


I’d love to hear what you think of this review. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

6 Comments on “#BookReview: The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna @NaminaForna

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this book, Harmony! A 5 Star review is a great recommendation from you!

    • This author and book truly nailed it and deserve every star. It’s a real pleasure coming across a book this well written. Thanks, Jan 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.