#BookReview: Hadley & Grace by Suzanne Redfearn @SuzanneRedfearn

Hi everyone. First of all, I’d  like to apologise for not visiting as many blogs as  I would have liked lately. I’ve struggled with my breathing again and am on a course of yet more steroids. With my inhaler ramped up to the maximum dose, my health team want me to have a chest x-ray to make sure nothing unseen is occurring in my lungs. I’ve had around 8 separate treatments of steroids over about 11 months, some for a week and others for a fortnight.  Sadly, we’re no nearer identifying the underlying issue as yet. I’ll keep you updated as and when  I can. Here’s hoping for a clear x -ray result. 🙂

On a happier note: Today, I have a book review for you from an author new to me but who has become a firm favourite after reading this book. I’ll be checking out her other works >>>

 

About the Book:

 

51043761. sy475

 

The author of In an Instant delivers a heart-pounding and emotional roller-coaster ride of self-discovery in the tradition of Thelma and Louise.

Needing to escape her abusive marriage, Hadley flees with her two kids, knowing it might be her only chance. A woman who can’t even kill a spider, Hadley soon finds herself pushed to the limits as she fights to protect her family.

Grace, new mother of baby Miles, desperately wants to put her rough past behind her for good, but she finds it impossible when her path crosses with Hadley’s, and her quest for a new start quickly spirals out of control and turns into a terrifying flight for survival.

Stronger together than apart, the two find their fates inextricably entwined, and as the danger closes in, each must decide how much she is willing to risk for the other.

A powerful story of self-discovery, Hadley and Grace is the heart-racing tale of two women facing insurmountable odds, racing to stay one step ahead of the trouble that is chasing them, and discovering new kinds of love and family along the way.

My Review:

This book grabbed me from the get-go and didn’t ease up from there. This is a wonderful read along the lines of Thelma & Louise but with kids in tow and less violence, but it’s gripping and entertaining all the same.

I loved each and every character, and the author did a fantastic job of bringing alive Skipper, who has to be my absolute fave. He enhances the tale so much. While some coincidences do occur to bring the different folks together and trigger the unplanned ‘fugitive fleeing’, they are entirely believable.

Some lines that stood out for me:

‘Boston has weather, but it has a more clear opinion of it–fall, winter, spring, summer–all of it crisp, clear, and breathtaking.’

‘Then, like making the wrong move in Jenga, she pulled out the wrong brick–made a single horrible wrong move that sent three worlds tumbling.’

‘Coincidence is not something Grace beleives in […] it seems to her that some hidden connectivity existed in that moment that profoundly influenced their lives, intertwining their fates and bringing them to this remarkable place and time.’

And remarkable it is. The tension of this fast-paced read is infused with wonderful humour and very real human interactions. I could not put this book down and read it in two sittings. I only stopped to sleep. The ending is well rounded and nicely tied off.

You have to read this book. As you may have guessed by now, it gets a resounding five stars from me. I’d give it ten if I could! 🙂

 

***

NOTE ON RATINGS: I consider a 3-star rating a positive review. Picky about which books I give 5 stars to, I reserve this highest rating for the stories I find stunning and which moved me.

5 STARS: IT WAS AMAZING! I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! — Highly Recommended.
4 STARS: I WOULD PULL AN ALL-NIGHTER — Go read this book.
3 STARS: IT WAS GOOD! — An okay read. Didn’t love it. Didn’t hate it.
2 STARS: I MAY HAVE LIKED A FEW THINGS —Lacking in some areas: writing, characterisation, and/or problematic plot lines.
1 STAR: NOT MY CUP OF TEA —Lots of issues with this book.


I’d love to hear what you think of this review. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

 

For anyone interested, here are the Amazon links …

UK … https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08R8XRTB2/

US … https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08R8XRTB2/

 

22 Comments on “#BookReview: Hadley & Grace by Suzanne Redfearn @SuzanneRedfearn

  1. I love the quotes you chose, Harmony. This does sound good!
    Sending {{hugs}} and prayers your x-rays come back clear or at least give a definitive course of action. <3

    • I especially loved the ‘Boston weather’ line, tee he hee. Thanks, Jacquie. It would be nice to get some answers at least 🙂

  2. This does sound like a good read, Harmony. Great review! Sending you lots of healing hugs. xo

  3. An excellent review, Harmony. I am sorry to hear about your on-going health problems. I hope everything will be okay.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear of increasing health difficulties, Harmony. Sending healing light and love to you. Call upon Archangel Raphael to help. I believe they are there waiting. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this book. It sounds like a really fun read!

    • Thanks so much, Jan. Your words mean a lot. It sure was a fun read and good for distraction! 🙂

  5. Harmony, I’m so sorry you’re still struggling with breathing issues. Please take care. I’m sending up prayers everything works out and your health team can get to the bottom of the issue quickly.

    I’m glad you had a good book to enjoy. A great review!

  6. Oh dear, I hope your lungs start behaving for you. I pray you have a clear xray! Great review, and it does have a Thelma and Louise vibe, especially with that cover. And I LOVE the watercolour sky above the road photograph!

  7. Thanks for sharing your review, Harmony. I pray there is nothing serious in your lungs but something that is can be fixed easily. My prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.