#BookReview: Going Zero by Anthony McCarten #Fiction #SocialMedia #Surviellance #Spyware

Hi everyone. Today I have a book review for you from an author new to me, Anthony McCarten. I’ll be sure to check out more reads from this writer. Here’s my review >>>


About the Book:

Going Zero, a high-concept thriller from Oscar-nominated screenwriter Anthony McCarten. Erase yourself. The hunt has begun. Perfect for fans of I Am Pilgrim and The Circle.

TWO HOURS TO VANISH
Ten people have been carefully selected to Beta test a ground-breaking piece of spyware. Pioneered by tech-wunderkind Cy Baxter, FUSION can track anyone wherever they are on earth. But does it work?

ONE CHANCE TO ESCAPE
Each participant is given two hours to ‘Go Zero’ โ€“ to go off-grid and disappear – and then thirty days to elude the highly sophisticated Capture Teams sent to find them. Any Zero that beats FUSION will receive $3million in cash. If Cy’s system prevails, he wins a $90 billion-dollar contract with the CIA to develop FUSION and revolutionize surveillance forever.

ZERO ALTERNATIVES
For contestant Kaitlyn Day, the stakes are far higher than money, and her reasons for entering the test more personal than Cy could have ever imagined. Kaitlyn needs to win to get what she wants, and Cy will stop at nothing to realize his ambitions. They have no choice but to finish the game and when the timer hits zero, there will only be one winnerโ€ฆ

 

My Review:

๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

Brilliant, scary, and an essential read that will stay with you!

I picked up this book on a Bookbub deal and I am so pleased I did! I now have a new favourite author. From the first page to last, this read grabbed my attention and didnโ€™t let go even after Iโ€™d finished it. Honestly, this fantastic fiction read, which is all too real and possible, will stay with me for a long time. I highlighted so many lines and passages that stood out for me, itโ€™s hard to share only a few here โ€ฆ

โ€˜Who needs more of the kind of life sheโ€™s been living? Her life needs exploding. Well, here she is, living in the smithereens.โ€™

And โ€ฆ

โ€˜The look that this last comment generates on Burtโ€™s up-till-now-neutral face could reverse global warming.โ€™

And โ€ฆ

โ€˜Maybe he should leave the country for a while? Go zero. But where can you go and truly not be found? Where can anyone go anymore?โ€™

If you love modern thrillers about how easy it is to use our online presence, from social media to shopping, etc., to track us and gather information to track us, and where we might be headed in the near future, all encapsulated in humour and gripping drama and action, youโ€™ll loveย Going Zero. This read gets a solid 5 stars from me. Go buy this book!

***

NOTE ON RATINGS:ย I consider a 3-star rating a positive review. Picky about which books I give 5 stars to, I reserve this highest rating for the stories I find stunning and which moved me.

5 STARS: IT WAS AMAZING! I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN! โ€” Highly Recommended.
4 STARS: I WOULD PULL AN ALL-NIGHTER โ€” Go read this book.
3 STARS: IT WAS GOOD! โ€” An okay read. Didnโ€™t love it. Didnโ€™t hate it.
2 STARS: I MAY HAVE LIKED A FEW THINGS โ€”Lacking in some areas: writing, characterisation, and/or problematic plot lines.
1 STAR: NOT MY CUP OF TEA โ€”Lots of issues with this book.


For anyone interested, here are the Amazon links …

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B08B8BDLW1/

US https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08B8BDLW1/


Iโ€™d love to hear what you think of this review. Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

 

24 Comments on “#BookReview: Going Zero by Anthony McCarten #Fiction #SocialMedia #Surviellance #Spyware

  1. Wow, Harmony. Currently, the first UK review on Amazon is yours! At 4.3 overall, ratings are mixed, but I trust your opinion. Hugs. xx

    • Itโ€™s a shame Amazon insists on hiding every country except the US reviews. At least from the UK we can see top US reviews but not all. Sadly, none at all from any other countries. Hugs ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Harmony, an interesting concept. It reminds me of The Running Man by Stephen King.

    • Yes! A modern version for sure but with many similarities, Robbie ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Hmmโ€ฆ did you like this one? I canโ€™t tell. ๐Ÿ˜‚

    I love seeing such enthusiasm in a review. The topic freaks me out, but it sounds like a good book. Thanks for sharing, Harmony.

    • ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ I reckon this will freak out most people. Thanks, Staci ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sorry about your TBR, Donna! Lols ๐Ÿ˜‚ A fascinating read for sure ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ™‚